School Logo


Primary School

Achieving through care, challenge and creativity

Contact Details



At Summercroft, we offer a structured sequence of lessons following the Purple Mash scheme of work, helping teachers to ensure that they have covered the skills required to meet the aims of the National Curriculum and ensure progression.  Teaching is enhanced through the addition of physical computing devices e.g. beebots, probots and microbits – other resources such as Barefoot Computing and are used to support teachers in delivery of these lessons.  


Digital literacy and online safety lessons are taught using Project Evolve. Teachers carry out a knowledge map at the start of each strand to ascertain the needs of their cohort and learning is planned from there.


The content teaches pupils how to flourish in a connected world, develops their sensitivity to others online, treating them with respect and showing respect for their privacy. It teaches children critical thinking and analytical skills, allowing children to apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science. It offers a range of opportunities for consolidation, challenge and variety.


Our Computing progression model is broken down into three strands that make up the computing curriculum. These are Computer Science, Information Technology and Digital Literacy.


Computer Science underlines the knowledge and skills relating to programming, coding, algorithms and computational thinking. Information Technology underlines the knowledge and skills relating to communication, multimedia and data representation and handling.  Digital Literacy underlines the knowledge and skills relating to online safety and technology uses all of which are covered whether combined or discreetly.


We use and follow the Purple Mash scheme of work from Year 1- Year 6, ensuring consistency and progression throughout the school. The scheme of work has been adapted to fit the specific needs of Summercroft and allows teachers to teach specific units at times where they can make cross-curricular links. For example ‘Presenting Information’ in Year 2.


The Purple Mash scheme of work enables clear coverage of the computing curriculum whilst also providing support and CPD for less confident teachers to deliver lessons.


Lessons are broken down into weekly units which are practical and engaging. Some units include opportunities for unplugged activities. Units cover a broad range of computing components such as coding, spreadsheets, Internet and Email, Databases, Communication networks, touch typing and animation.


In addition to Project Evolve, online safety is taught through participation in Safer Internet Day each year and through external workshops currently held annually for children, parents and staff.

Key Stage 1 Objectives and Coverage

Lower Key Stage 2 Objectives and Coverage

Upper Key Stage 2 Objectives and Coverage

Progression of Skills

Progression of Key Vocabulary